A New Game Plan

So I have 52 weeks to lose 40 pounds. That’s .77 pounds a week. Sounds achievable, but I’m up against some stubborn, long-lasting final pounds. Also I know I’m going to be facing excess skin and it weighs more than people realize. However, I’m up for the challenge.

The first part of my game plan is to attack my stagnation and refocus myself on proper eating. I’ve been a bit out of touch with some of my old eating habits and skipping meals.  This sets me up for bad portion sizes and choices at the next meal.  So I’m using a 21-Day Fix program from Beachbody.  You can find more about the program at http://www.beachbody.com/product/fitness_programs/21-day-fix-simple-fitness-eating.do.  This color coded portion control system is going to help me to reacquire skills that I’ve learned from my friend and former trainer (Leslie), whom I hope you’ll hear from on this blog.  Eating clean isn’t a diet, it’s a way of life and I’m going to be eating this way for more than 21 days, but it’s a swift kick in the pants, and I’m excited.  The other nice part of this program is the accountability that I will have with fellow challenge participants.  Via a FB group page we can share tips, recipes, and check-in with one another.  I have a “coach” that will be taking me through the program ( I hope you’ll be hearing from her also).  I will use the containers daily and there are scheduled workouts that I will be completing.  The DVD workouts were a part of the challenge pack.  Oh I forgot I’m using Beachbody’s product called Shakeology.  It’s a bit pricey compared to other protein products, but I must say that I am really impressed at this point.  It is helping with cravings, and the best part (TMI warning….) is that I’ve been regular since I began drinking it.  YEAH!!!

This was a difficult decision for me and I investigated several other options.  I’m hoping to share some of those other options so people who are interested in weight loss can hear all things available to them.  There are some other products and programs that I might try in the future, but this was on the top of my list.

The saying is that it takes 21 days to break an old habit and start a new one in its place.  These aren’t new habits, but it is a time of practice for me.  Tomorrow I’ll be taking my measurements and weighing in and I’ll post my results.  I’ll weigh weekly and measure again after 21 days.

I’ve also started running again.  I’m training for a 10K in May and another half-marathon in October.  Friday I did 5.85 in a little over and hour and a half.  Not super bad for me since before last week I hadn’t run since last October.

I’m headed to bed now because losing an hour has made me cranky.  Also my husband has been sick and I’m trying desperately to keep from catching whatever he has had.  Thanks for reading and have a great week!!!

 

Published by

brought2ubythenumber40

A woman on a journey. I'm blessed to be a wife to a gentle, hard-working man and mother to five unique, amazing and very busy children. Learning to live a full life, and dream again. Resting in reality and finding my beautiful.

Leave a Reply

