Transformation Tuesdays

So on my FB page I posted a video of me from 2011.  Wowzers I have trouble remembering that woman, but I’m grateful, as painful as it is to watch, that Leslie Raper videoed that moment.  With God’s help, great coaching and a lot of hard butt-kicking work from me transformation is taking place.  If you haven’t checked out my FB page you should.  Stop by find some encouragement, and leave some encouragement.

Physical transformation has not been my only accomplishment.  Most of this journey is mental, emotional and spiritual.  I’ve believed lies for far too long and I’m having to replace them with truths.  I’m isolating patterns and behaviors, changing them when appropriate and actively looking at the root causes of my addictions, hurts, habits and hang-ups.  There are many tools that I am using to truly transform, such as reading, counseling, Celebrate Recovery, prayer, journaling… but the one I will focus on for this post is memorizing Scripture.  I’m fully aware that not everyone that reads this blog agrees with my belief system or might call themselves a Christian.  Everyone must find the Truth for themselves and if anyone wants to discuss faith I would be more than happy to do so.  However, on this site everyone is welcome to read and participate in discussion.

I am a grateful follower of Jesus Christ and He is my higher power.   Reading the Bible brings me comfort and I personally believe it is a true and infallible source of knowledge, truth and encouragement.  So for every lie I’ve believed, every pound I’m losing, every inch of this skin that’s shedding I’m replacing that pain and hurt with a positive truth.  I’m in the process of memorizing a scripture passage per pound/lost.  I will be posting a list of scriptures as a separate page.  I will also post a passage per week and would invite any reader whom would like to join me in memorizing.  This will be a total of 40 verses (give or take) before 3/19/15.  If you participate you can choose the translation of your choice.  I’ll list which translation I chose next to the reference.  I’ll post the passage weekly so keep checking the page for updates.

Here is Week #1:  This passage is actually 2 vs.- Romans 12:1-2 (NASB) Therefore I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship.  And do not be conformed to thisworld, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.

Thanks as always for stopping by and tell someone you think might need a dose of humor, inspiration or encouragement.

~Janelle

Published by

brought2ubythenumber40

A woman on a journey. I'm blessed to be a wife to a gentle, hard-working man and mother to five unique, amazing and very busy children. Learning to live a full life, and dream again. Resting in reality and finding my beautiful.

Leave a Reply

