REST

Rest day has a certain meaning for those that exercise regular or are in training for an event or sports activity.  Physical rest is so crucial.  It repairs, restores and renews the mind, body and soul.  There is scientific evidence showing the importance of rest.  There are optimal sleep times and certain behaviors that should surround rest and sleep.  The power behind “power naps” can be proven.  It’s all very important.  I admit that I don’t get enough sleep and truly my body is paying the price.

However, this post is about a deeper more personal kind of rest.  Although we’ve lived in WA almost a year (on the 20th of this month) we are still finding our ebb and flow, our normal for this place.  Our schedule is still a bit more fluid than I would like it to be and I’m working to establish better routines for us all.  I’m desperately trying to create more time and space for our family to rest.  Being busy doesn’t always mean being out of the house.  We are all busy doing our own thing, disconnected from each other, plugged in to a different device, creating a new kind of noise, being BUSY.  This creates anxiety in me and a general sense of tension in the kids.  It is very hard to convince my four year old boys that they still need naps.  What I wouldn’t give for one 🙂

Sundays are a time of rest and Sabbath for me.  Yes there is an element of busyness to this day, but it isn’t a bother.  It isn’t work and it brings peace to me.  Meals are simple.  Often we have leftovers or sandwiches.  Sometimes I cook something the night before in the crock pot.  I try to avoid doing ANY laundry on Sundays and quite often I go to bed Sunday evening with dirty dishes still in the sink.   We don’t do a lot of traveling or activities on Sunday because we have morning and evening commitments with our church.  Sometimes the children go to a friends house to play after church.  Quite often there is a long nap, usually my husband and four year old twin boys, but sometimes even I get one.

I’ve learned so much about myself since our move and that rest is possible even in the midst of busyness, stress and pressure.  I can’t begin to tell you how weary, exhausted and fragile I am at this moment, but I’m finding myself more and more at peace.  For those of you that follow my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/brt2ubynum40?ref=hl I have mentioned my personal observation of Lent.  I’ve also talked about giving up and releasing my fears.  Well I would like to share that I’m finding the joy of resting, truly resting.  For me it involves really making a conscious effort to say no to fear, to stress, to worry and unrealistic expectations of myself and others.  I’m learning to rest by letting go of things that are beyond my control.  Rest for me is not only less busyness in my physical life, but it is an intentional slowing of my thought process and mental energies.  This is a part of my life that I’m working on and during this Lenten season I’m making a more concerted effort to humble myself and be aware of the peace that is available to me.  40 days of purposeful prayer, rest and practicing gratitude.  It’s been good for the soul and I have 30 left.  YEAH!!

I need rest from the constant dialogue in my brain.  I’ve given too much mental energy and time to being afraid, caring to much what people think and trying to control others (especially my husband and children).  A break from to-do lists, the rat race, schedules and errands would be super sweet.  However, life goes on and I must learn to live in balance.  Healthy boundaries and a more accurate view of reality is a new goal of mine.  I can REST while feeling out of control.  I can REST by being out of control.  Hear me…not chaotic, but not obsessive.  Not lack of foresight and planning, but not manipulating and monopolizing.  Seeking serenity by observing Sabbath.

Rest…body and soul.  I’m learning to appreciate it more daily.

How do you rest?  I would love to hear from you.  Here is a song by one of my favorite singer/songwriters that talks about resting.  Enjoy….

 

 

Published by

brought2ubythenumber40

A woman on a journey. I'm blessed to be a wife to a gentle, hard-working man and mother to five unique, amazing and very busy children. Learning to live a full life, and dream again. Resting in reality and finding my beautiful.

Leave a Reply

