One More Revolution

This time last year my plane had just touched down on the tarmac at SeaTac airport.  My father, my brother and four of my children and I flew on my 38th birthday across the country to start a new chapter in my life.  Moving to Everett, WA was quite a birthday present.  It was a stressful, emotionally charged day.  There weren’t any  presents, no songs, no candles.  There were tears, goodbyes and stress.  My daughter did buy me a cup of donut holes form Dunkin Donuts at the Newark airport during our layover.  I didn’t eat any, but she tried.

So much has happened in this most recent revolution around the sun.  I now live across the country from my family and friends and home of 29 years.  In the last year I’ve met new people, tried new foods, had to navigate new grocery store chains.  There has been a decision to seek medical and psychological help for our oldest son as well as enrolling him in public school.  I attend a new church and have helped to start a Celebrate Recovery program at RCM.  I participated in my first half marathon.  There has been beauty like I’ve never seen.   Crowded freeways, metered on ramps, traffic and having to drive in the rain…all fears I’ve had to conquer this year.  New friends, new faces, new culture.  Our youngest child broke his arm (the first broken bone of any of our children) after living here only three weeks.  New doctors, lots of paperwork, phone calls, trying to connect with neighbors (unsuccessfully I might add), and being open to change….all things this past year.  There has been a deeper sadness than I’ve known, and a deepening of my faith.  Weary and hopeful have coexisted in my soul and I’ve grown and changed more this year than I probably have processed.

Being 38 wasn’t all that bad.  I’m increasingly becoming more aware of who I am and who I want to become.  However, I’m totally jazzed about 39.  I’m not fearful of this last year of my fourth decade.  I’m embracing life and am actually super excited to turn 40.  I think it’s a ridiculous lie that our culture has sold us about turning “40” and how life is over.  Mid-life crisis, although really tough for some, doesn’t make sense to me.  I think life just keeps getting better and better.

There is so much to do this next year.  Today the “official” countdown begins to lose 40 pounds, learn 40 Scriptures, do 40 new things, study the significant time periods of 40 in the Bible, read 40 books, learn 40 new words, and more.  I’m so excited about this years grand adventure to prepare myself for 40.  I want to run a marathon next year and I just found a 30 week training program.   Next year will be my 40th bday, my 20th wedding anniversary and the culmination of my weight loss journey (I pray).  Wouldn’t it be awesome to celebrate that with a BANG?????!!!!

Don’t get me wrong I’m not going to fritter away this year, this revolution.  In fact, just the opposite.  This year is going to be GREAT, full of wonder, joy and beauty.  I pray that this year will be a springboard into a new season of life, of love, of ministry.

Although I’m still often homesick for NC I am grateful for lessons learned and new opportunities here in WA. It’s amazing what one revolution can do to a person.  So….here’s to one more revolution.  I’m gonna keep dreaming, keep believing, keep laughing and loving.  I’m gonna keep trying, keep learning, keep smiling, and crying.  I’ll be open to change, releasing fear and embracing peace.  I have one life to live, and I’m going to try to make mine extraordinary.

God’s gift to me…another trip around the sun.  Here’s to a wonderful year.  Yeah…the last year of my third decade.  39….bring it!  I’m not afraid of 40.  This year is going to rock and I’m going to live fully awake, engaged and passionately.  Releasing fear, embracing peace, open to change I’m going to rock this adventurous life.  God’s girl, Nathan’s beloved, mom to five amazing kiddos is who I am.  It’s my time to shine.  Hang on world ’cause it’s gonna get real up in here.  I’m going to need help to achieve my goals.  So, if I ask you to come alongside me, be ready.  Wonder awaits……

~Janelle

Published by

brought2ubythenumber40

A woman on a journey. I'm blessed to be a wife to a gentle, hard-working man and mother to five unique, amazing and very busy children. Learning to live a full life, and dream again. Resting in reality and finding my beautiful.

Leave a Reply

