Enjoying One Moment At a Time

Tonight’s question in my Celebrate Recovery group was “Do you find living one day at a time, enjoying one moment at a time difficult?  How does faith play into this?  Well I find living this way so foreign.  I’m consumed with list making and I obsess about completing everything on each list.  It’s an impossible cycle and I fail DAILY.  So many moments of laughter, joy, fun and peace are missed because I’m trying to do more, be more, and ironically to live more.  Fear and guilt often consume me and I am so tired. I am so tired of living in the past or fearing the future. I’m tense, my children are tense and something has to change.  My desire is to experience the “nowness” of my life. I want to truly be in the gift of the present. A woman in my group said once that her prayer is to be “fully awake”.  That really resonated with me.  I LOVE that.

This moment….I’m conflicted.  This moment….I’m tired.  This moment….I’m upset.   This moment….I’m feeling a bit forgotten and abandoned.  This moment….is just a moment.  My life isn’t determined by what I’m feeling at any one moment.  My life is a beautiful mosaic of experiences, memories, moments and experiences.  I’m so blessed!!!  So even though I might not like what’s happening at a particular moment or how I’m feeling…it’s just that…a moment.  I can still live in that moment, experience it and move to the next.

~Lord,
Here’s to living in the moment. Grant me your grace to experience your majesty, love, glory, peace and forgiveness THIS moment. Let me allow you to lavish your love upon me, just as I am.  May I also be aware that you desire to love everyone in my family and that you hold their lives in your hands also.  Each one in this family can life his/her life in the moment being “fully awake” in YOU!!!  Thank you for grace. Bathe me in your presence now God. I love you and praise you. In Jesus name….AMEN!

Miracle of the Moment

It’s time for letting go
All of our “if only’s”
Cause we don’t have a time machine
And even if we did
Would we really want to use it?
Would we really want to go change everything?

Cause we are who and where and what we are for now
And this is the only moment we can do anything about

So breathe it in and breathe it out
And listen to your heartbeat
There’s a wonder in the here and now
It’s right there in front of you
And I don’t want you to miss the miracle of the moment

There’s only One who knows
What’s really out there waiting
And all the moments yet to be
And all we need to know
Is He’s out there waiting
To Him the future’s history

And He has given us a treasure called right now
And this is the only moment we can do anything about

So breathe it in and breathe it out
And listen to your heartbeat
There’s a wonder in the here and now
It’s right there in front of you
And I don’t want you to miss the miracle of the moment

And if it brings you tears
Then taste them as they fall
Let them soften your heart

And if it brings you laughter
Then throw your head back
And let it go
Let it go, yeah
You gotta let it go

And listen to your heartbeat

And breathe it in and breathe it out
And listen to your heartbeat
There’s a wonder in the here and now
It’s right there in front of you
And I don’t want you to miss the miracle of the moment

And breathe it in and breathe it out
And listen to your heartbeat
There’s a wonder in the here and now (here and now)
It’s right there in front of you
And I don’t want you to miss the miracle
Of the moment

Published by

brought2ubythenumber40

A woman on a journey. I'm blessed to be a wife to a gentle, hard-working man and mother to five unique, amazing and very busy children. Learning to live a full life, and dream again. Resting in reality and finding my beautiful.

Leave a Reply

