Moving Forward

Yesterday was Martin Luther King Jr. Day and in his honor I wanted to post a famous and inspirational quote of his “If you can’t fly then run, if you can’t run then walk, if you can’t walk then crawl, but whatever you do you have to keep moving forward.”

I’ve been working hard to create forward momentum in my life and in my weight loss/fitness journey.  I’m back on the clean eating bandwagon and even started the Whole Life Challenge on Saturday.  I will write more about this process as it unfolds.  I’ve been running regularly and the scales are moving in the right direction again. I even spent HOURS (probably 10) shopping and preparing meals for the freezer with my friend Drew this past weekend.

It’s slow going.  Sunday I ran with a friend in the cold, up hills and it pushed me to the edge.  I felt weak and frustrated.  Yet…I finished.  Yesteday I “pushed play” on a video I hadn’t used in months.  I’m significantly weaker than when in WA and so I struggled during parts of this video workout.  I was able to complete it and for that I’m grateful.  Battling unmet expectation, self-disgust and disappointment slow me down and take up too much mental energy.  Yes, I’m out of shape, but I’m stronger than I was in 2010.  Yes…I gained some of my weight back but I’m losing it again.  Being aware of my old patterns and behaviors and asking for accountability and receiving help is key for me.  Every step counts.  I’m still trying to find my groove and balance work, play and creativity.  Being more mindful, intentional and purposeful in every decision and action is difficult but very rewarding.

Nathan and I are in therapy.  Our entire family is as a part of an intensive in-home intervention.  Monday evenings are our couples session.  Our session was hard, but we MOVED FORWARD.  Listening and sharing honestly are gifts and I’m blessed to have a partner that is working so diligently to give and receive love. Learning to be clear in what I need and present it in a loving way and well as   being able to hear the word “no” and to say it without unfair expectation is powerful.

Whatever it takes…walking, crawling…I’m not giving up on my faith, my marriage, my family or my health and fitness goals.  I’m MOVING FORWARD.

I hope you are creating momentum in your life. Thanks for reading. Here’s one of my running songs. Thought you might like it!!!

 

 

Published by

brought2ubythenumber40

A woman on a journey. I'm blessed to be a wife to a gentle, hard-working man and mother to five unique, amazing and very busy children. Learning to live a full life, and dream again. Resting in reality and finding my beautiful.

Leave a Reply

